How to deauthorize all computers at once in iTunes

481

iTunes Authorization is a built-in feature that allows you to grant other computers permission to access your apps, books, movies, and audiobooks in iTunes. While this is a great feature, one major drawback is that you can authorize 5 computers per Apple ID only. If you are a big fan of iTunes Authorization, then at some point you may have wanted to add more slots for an Apple ID.

Unfortunately, Apple doesn’t allow you to add more authorization slots for your Apple ID. However, they do let you de-authorize any computer linked to your Apple ID to make sure that your personal data will not fall into the wrong hands.

In this article, we will show you how to de-authorize all computers in iTunes. Before we get started, keep in mind that when you de-authorize a Mac or a PC, you will remove that computer’s ability to access your purchased and downloaded content in iTunes.

  1. How to de-authorize all computers in iTunes

If you don’t have access to a particular computer linked to your Apple ID to de-authorize iTunes, it’s a good idea to remove all computers to make sure that your personal data is safe. If you need help, check out the steps below.

Step one: First off, you need to open iTunes on your computer (make sure that you now have the latest version of iTunes installed on your machine)

Step two: Next up, head to the Apple menu at the top, click on Account and select View My Accounts (you may be asked to authenticate with your Apple ID before proceeding)

Step three: From the Account Information screen, locate Computer Authorizations and hit Deauthorize All

Step four: Hit Deauthorize All again to confirm your action

Once you have already de-authorized all computers in iTunes, you need to authorize all of them again. However, you cannot re-authorize all your computers through iTunes at the same time.

  1. How to de-authorize a computer in iTunes

If you don’t want to de-authorize all computers in iTunes, you can de-authorize a single computer. The process is pretty simply and you can follow the steps below.

Step one: Open iTunes on your computer (make sure that you now have the latest version of iTunes on your device)

Step two: Click on the Account menu at the top and hover the cursor over Authorizations

Step three: Select “Deauthorize This Computer” and authenticate with your Apple ID if required.

Also read: How to disable auto-syncing in iTunes

Got any questions? Let us know in the comments below.

Be the first to comment on "How to deauthorize all computers at once in iTunes"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

*